anxiety-about-valentinesday-400x243

It’s Valentine’s Day. Do you have a Sweetheart? No? Don’t panic, neither do I.  If you don’t have an ‘Official Sweetheart,’ I suggest that rather than being in a funk about it, use the day to fall in love with yourself. That’s what I am going to do.

I already started on Saturday when I bought myself a bunch of little things that I needed but kept putting off. I got a lip pencil, a new nail polish, a decent cutting knife, and a romantic double movie DVD set for only $6.99.  I didn’t break the bank but it was wonderful fun to just treat myself to all those things that I had been wanting. Playing with my little purchases and knowing that I deserved them made my joy complete.

As I mentioned, I don’t have an official Sweetheart. I do however, have a lot of people in my life that I love and who love me. I am choosing to focus on that, because I know I can’t attract anything I am not a vibrational match for. So if I don’t find myself lovable and attractive, how can I expect anybody else to? And if I choose instead to focus on the lack of a Sweetie, I will just strengthen that vibration and attract more of that. Miss-creating at its absolute best!

My suggestion to all the rest of you, who won’t be someone’s sweetie pie today, is to demonstrate to the Universe how you want to be treated and loved. You can do this in a lot of creative ways. Here are a few suggestions.

Start out the day thinking about your dream, fantasies of how the day would be if you were going to spend it with a special someone. Then, take a beat and realize that you are going to spend the day with a special someone…you!

Now, instead of being in the doldrums, get busy giving yourself a great day. Get that massage you have been putting off, or get a Mani or a Pedi. Go for a walk somewhere beautiful or watch the sunset and breathe it in. Make a call to someone you love that you haven’t had time to talk to in a while. Feed yourself special food, light some candles, write yourself a love letter, play beautiful music, watch a romantic movie and see yourself as the main character. In short, do things to remind yourself that you are loveable and that love is all around you.

There isn’t just one source of love, there are zillions. But the most important one for you, is you. I really mean that. Cherish yourself, you are a unique, amazing being and the world wouldn’t be the same without your presence. We are all a version of George Bailey from “It’s a Wonderful Life.” Many lives would be lessened without the impact you have on them. What you give…even just your smile…impacts others for the better every day.

So on this day, that isn’t just about romantic love, let’s honor the beauty of all love and let it begin with love of yourself. We all need to get better at doing that. So let’s use this Valentine’s Day to begin improving the Self Love Skill Set. It’s easy…today, just Love yourself…you deserve it.

My Love to all of you. Thank you for being in my life.

Paula

Leave a Reply

