Hi All,

Since the release of the revised edition of my Chakra book is coming soon, I decided to give you a little excerpt to read today.


Chakras – The Magnificent Seven

The Root or First Chakra deals with life force, vitality, sexual drive, survival issues, connection to country, family and tribe. It grounds us and gives us stability. It is the holder of our history and genetic identity. It is our foundation. It embodies responsibility, source energy, the drive to procreate, and empowerment. It impacts the lower regions of the body: the rectum, colon, penis, vagina, perineum, base of the spine, legs, feet, knees, bones, skeletal structure, adrenals, lower back, fat, skin,  the immune system and little fingers and toes.

The Sacral or Second Chakra deals with issues of procreation, creativity, emotional balance, work, relationships, giving and receiving, working harmoniously and creatively with others, desire, pleasure, health, change, movement, tolerance, having enough, and assimilation of new ideas.  It influences: the sexual organs, testes, ovaries, uterus, breasts, lower vertebrae, circulatory system, pelvis, hip area, appendix, bladder, prostate, kidneys, large intestine, and ring fingers and toes.

The Solar Plexus or Third Chakra deals with issues of personal power, will, ego, personality, self-esteem, authority, mastery of desire, self-control, how one functions in relationship to the world and how one feels viewed by the world.  It impacts:  the digestive system, stomach, pancreas, adrenals, upper intestine, gall bladder, liver, muscles, umbilicus, thighs, middle fingers and toes, and the middle spine located behind the solar plexus.

The Heart or Fourth Chakra deals with issues of love and the emotions. Divine/unconditional love, forgiveness, compassion, understanding, balance, group consciousness, oneness with life, acceptance, peace, harmony, and contentment are all attributes of this chakra. Its sphere of influence over the physical body includes: the heart and circulatory system, lungs, ribs, breasts, shoulders,  arms, hands, diaphragm, chest, kidneys, and index fingers and toes.

The Throat or Fifth Chakra is concerned with issues of communication, inspiration, personal expression, creativity in speech, writing or the arts, the challenges of surrendering one’s will to that of the Divine, and of dealing with issues of the unknown.  It embodies such characteristics as integration, peace, truth, knowledge, wisdom, honesty, reliability and kindness. It has energetic connection to: the throat, thyroid, trachea, parathyroid, hypothalamus, esophagus, neck, neck vertebra, mouth, face, teeth, ears, arms, hands, shoulders, all joints, big toes and thumbs.

The Brow or Sixth Chakra is the center of soul realization, intuition, intellect, inner vision, imagination, concentration, peace of mind, and insight.  This chakra links us to our mental body, intelligence and psychological characteristics. Its influence on the physical body includes: the brain and nervous system, pituitary and pineal glands, eyes, ears, nose, the senses, the immune system and the base of the skull.

The Crown or Seventh Chakra is our connection with Spirit.  It deals with unification of the higher self with the human personality, oneness with the Infinite, spiritual will, inspiration, unity, divine wisdom and understanding.

Humanitarianism, courage, idealism, higher consciousness, selfless service and perception beyond space and time are additional elements of this chakra. It also has energetic connection with: the central nervous system, the muscular system, the skeletal system, the skull, the cerebral cortex, the pituitary and pineal glands, and the skin.

Although the chakras range from lower to higher and they resonate in accordance with those frequencies, I feel it is a mistake to extend this classification strategy into a statement about the order of importance or desirability of the chakras.  While in the classic Indian tradition, the teachings advise repression of the lower chakras in order to achieve higher states of consciousness, I tend to agree with the thinking of Anodea Judith (Wheels of Light), that all the chakras are equally important to our growth and life experiences. We would not be connected and whole without our roots, our sexuality and our power.  Nor would we be complete without love, thought and spirit.  It is the balance of all of the Magnificent Seven that creates health, vitality, wonder, confidence, love, high aspirations, serenity, creativity, contentment, and an awe-inspiring life experience.  Understanding the chakras and working with them on a daily basis is the first step toward finding that balance and having that experience.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: